Nick Harper - Harperspace
Harpic on Tour
In the Press
Nick Harper - Harperspace

Lies! Lies! Lies!

Lies! Lies! Lies!

Nick Harper - Lies! Lies! Lies!
Released: 2017 (Sangraal Records)


  1. Lies! Lies! Lies!
  2. Nobody Loves You
  3. Leaving The Club
  4. Black Friday
  5. Tiina
  6. Magic Money Tree
  7. We Keep Turning Right
  8. Have A Nice Deity
  9. Dark Forces
  10. Global Nation

buy now

"350 million reasons why, written on the side of the bus" is the opening salvo of the album, and straight away you realise that Nick, as always, has something important to tell you. Colours are nailed to masts, sides are chosen and lines are drawn in the sand. Essentially Lies! Lies! Lies! is a comment on the state of the western world, from the manipulation of the masses for political gain to the ugly consumerism of Black Friday, the rise and increasing normalisation of right wing attitudes, to religion, globalisation and everything in between. Lyrically and poetically he just says what many of us think, though the likes of Big Tony who drinks in The George and Dragon may well find himself seething into his pint of John Smiths!

And if the words are as honest as they are challenging, then musically it is just as groundbreaking. Nick has always had the ability to capture a massive sound with just an acoustic guitar, one loaded with rock intensity, folk infectiousness, jazz creativity and classical dexterity, well now he has a band to push that into even wider sonic realms. Leaving The Club is a bluesy groover, Tiina is a lilting ballad with brooding undertones, We Keep Turning Right is built on funky-jazz rhythms and Dark Forces is a fluid and mercurial post-rock growler. It's a triumph of an album, musically exploratory, lyrically direct and the perfect musical product for our times."

~ Dancing About Architecture.


Nick Harper - Harperspace